The village was of importance during the early Middle Ages as the centre of a large 11th-century estate.
A castle was built here in the late 11th or early 12th century, though is believed to have been derelict by 1200.
The map has quite early hand colouring and is on laid watermarked paper.
Check regularly for new uploaded galleries and submit your own photos.
The present parish church in Swavesey, dedicated to St Andrew since the 11th century, has a double aisle aspect to its nave.
The east window in the Lady Chapel contains a 1967 Tree of Jesse by Francis Skeat.
There is also some old tape along the bottom of the central fold. The map comes from ‘A Complete and Universal English Dictionary’ by the Rev James Barclay, revised by Henry W Dewhurst and published circa 1848. The map, which has later hand colouring, is in good condition. The map comes from ‘A Complete and Universal English Dictionary’ by the Rev James Barclay, revised by Henry W Dewhurst and published circa 1848.
Finally there is some minor creasing but generally for the age the map is in reasonable condition and matted and framed will look quite stunning. Vignettes of Dover, Greenwich Hospital and Rochester.